Blog Tour: Author Interview: Cynthia Vespia

Standard

Here today with us is the author Cynthia Vespia. She has written a number of novels which are The Crescent, the Demon Hunter Series, and Life, Death and Back. Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions today and I hope that the Tour will continue to go well!

Do you have any pet peeves?

I’m sure I have quite a few though I try not to let them get to me. One of the biggest pet peeves I have however is when I get cut-off while I’m speaking. I make it a point to listen to other people and give them my full attention. But when someone completely disregards that you’re talking to interrupt with their own story or answer the phone, etc. it is completely disrespectful.

What is your favorite quote?

Good question. I keep a journal of my favorite quotes and I’m constantly jotting down new ones. I just ran across one from E.E. Cummings that I will share: “To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best night and day to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight and never stop fighting.”

Where is your favorite place to read/write?

I like to write inside bookstores. Being surrounded by literature inspires me. I like to read by the pool or at the beach, some place relaxing.

What is your favorite line in Life, Death and Back

Hmmm…I would’ve imagined it would be something from Lisa Zane or even Cyrus Houston. They were very cocky and sometimes its fun to step out of the norm and write from that perspective. But looking back over it I would have to say it is the line Charlie tells Bryan at the end of the first half: “Each event in our lives is part of a great plan. There are noaccidents, only destiny. From the outset we are all destined for importance, whether we find it or not it is really up to us in the end.”

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I’d been writing since I was eight years old. Never really more than short stories. But when I read Dean Koontz INTENSITY in high school I realized I wanted to be writer and produce great quality pieces just as he had.

What is next for you? Can you share anything regarding a current work in process?

I’m working on two thrillers at the same time. One involves private investigators and the other a non-traditional hitman. They are both intended to become series, respectively. That’s about all I can say at the moment. There are some new novels that will be released soon, and some re-releases in the works as well. Theater of Pain just came out on Kindle with The Crescent soon to follow.

Who/What had influenced you the most?

As I said before, Dean Koontz. But also just reading alot as a kid helped inspire my imagination. C.S. Lewis, Piers Anthony, etc. I also loved comic books so I’m anxious to get involved in graphic novels.

Do you incorporate any part of yourself into your characters or the place you have been?

Yes. Every one of my characters is some extension of myself. I use alot of real locations, for instance Las Vegas is prominent in some upcoming titles because that is my hometown. But I also use creative license to make up cities, or places within real cities. In terms of my fantasy novels that is just pure imagination. It’s alot of fun.

How long does it take to write a novel?

That depends. It can catch a good flow from the beginning and get turned out in six months. But sometimes there’s a hangup in the plot, or I want to change a few things like POV, then it takes longer. Demon Hunter took me over a year but when it was finished it turned out to be my best work to date.

Anything else you would like to add?

I’ve just reopened my advertising site where I deal specifically in promotional writing, design, and video services. If you’re an author in need of a cover, trailer, logo, etc. then check out www.originalcynadvertising.com

Thank you again for answer my questions!

One response »

Leave a Reply

