Review: Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2) by C.C. Hunter

Standard

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2) by C.C. Hunter

Paperback, 400 pages
Published October 11th 2011 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Source: Library

Now that she’s settled in at Shadow Falls Camp, Kylie Galen’s determined to discover the extent of her supernatural abilities.  But with a ghost insisting someone Kylie loves is about die, a rogue vampire on a murdering rampage, and her sixth sense telling her someone is watching her, Kylie’s quest for answers is quickly put on hold.

To make matters worse, just when she’s about to give her heart to Derek, a half-fairy, he starts pulling away.  When Lucas, a werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past, returns, Kylie’s feels more conflicted than ever. Her weekend with her mom should have been the just the break Kylie needs, but it turns out to be her breaking point.  Someone from the dark side of the supernatural world has plans for Kylie–and it’ll take all her resources to get back to Shadow Falls alive… – Goodreads

My opinion: Can I just say, Is there ANYTHING that Kylie can’t do? It is totally awesome, I mean she can do so much and now she can rock even more. I love her. I love her character, her personality, everything. She is a very likable character, which is why so many people enjoy the book I think. But I also think that it most likely has something to do with figuring out what she is… and I have to say for someone who reads A LOT of paranormal (me) I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT SHE IS>>> how is that possible? I mean I have no inkling what so ever and it’s starting to bug me. I am ready!

The plot in the story this time was kinda cool. Not much happens in the beginning however, around 50 pages into the story Kylie begins to find out more about herself and what she is. And the ghost this time around was actually sort of freaky and actually trying to help someone that Kylie knows and the mystery of who that person is kinda what keeps you reading in addition to trying to figure out who/what she is. Another thing that I really liked was that as she was gaining all her “powers” she was also attracting the attention of something/someone and that she becomes paranoid but talks herself out of it (which is such a human thing). Something else that was good, I think was the love triangle happening between Kylie, Derek and Lucas and even though Lucas wasn’t in the picture for a big part in the book, he still held a piece of her heart and Derek could tell.

Anyways, in this novel I had two favorite characters. One is Miranda and the other is Della. I wish I had friends like that. I mean I know if I needed my friends they would be there, but I don’t think that they would be willing to go to a place the Shadow Falls in the book if they knew that the thing they feared the most will be there waiting for them, to judge and punish. Miranda was just rocking, I loved her spells. Her turning Socks into a skunk was priceless, I laughed so hard as I read that and also the cage was hilarious. Della is amazing because of how protective she is of her friends and although she can get a little grumpy and PMSy that is why she is so loveable. She is real. Not everyone can be like Kylie all the time and Della is realistic, as in the reader can imagine someone exactly like her or know someone exactly like her in real life.

Overall: 4.75 out of 5

P.S. If you guys want to read some really cool “Extras” about the story and get the perspective of both Lucas and Derek about Kylie, definitely go check out C.C. Hunter’s website. You can also find an excerpt of the book there as well. I can’t wait to check out the next novel in the series.

For my review of Born at Midnight, the first book in the Shadow Falls series CLICK HERE

One response »

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox (33) « Novel Society

Leave a Reply

