Author Inteview: Belle Whittington

Standard
 Belle Whittington is the author of the Cicada, a YA novel.

 NS:    Do you have any pet peeves?

BW: Absolutely!  My biggest pet peeve is for someone to smack while eating.  I can’t imagine anything more annoying that someone chewing with one’s mouth open and making all that noise!  I’m irritated just thinking about it!  LOLOL!!!!!
NS:  What is your favorite quote? 

BW: My favorite quote of all time is by George Eliot:  “It is never too late to be what you would have been.”  That one quote was literally a life-changing quote for me.  Once upon a time, that one sentence encouraged me to take a huge step that changed everything about my life.
NS: Where is your favorite place to read/write? 

BW: I have two favorite places to read: 1.) In my car on my lunch hour  2.)  In my bed in the evenings.  That’s when I read myself to sleep! 🙂  My favorite place to write is in my room…either sitting on the floor, at my little desk, or on my bed. 

NS: When did you know you wanted to be a writer? 

BW: Honestly, I can’t remember a time that I wanted to be anything else. 

I have been daydreaming stories for as long as I can remember.  My first recollection of wanting to be a writer was when I was in the second grade, and my teacher, Mrs. Rambin, would have us lay our heads on our desks after lunch while she read us stories full of magic and imagination.

NS: What is next for you? 

BW: Cicada is the first of a trilogy, so I’m busy writing two sequels at once.  That sounds insane, I know!  And sometimes it seems insane, but it just seems to be working out this way, so I’ll just keep at it until I have to change the process. 🙂  

NS: Can you share anything regarding a current work in progress? 

BW: The most current work in progress is Firefly, the second book in the Cicada trilogy.  I’ve actually included the first few chapters of Firefly at the end of Cicada in both e-book and print versions.  Firefly, like Cicada, is a story of metamorphosis.  In Firefly, readers will get to know the protagonist, Blair, much better and why she is the way she is and what she will eventually become. 
NS: Who/What has influenced you the most?  

BW: Well, I love the old heroic Anglo-Saxon ballads, such as Beowulf.  But probably the biggest influence in storytelling was my father.  He had a way of instilling a sense of magic in everything from the tiniest flower to the silver lining cast on the leaves by the moon in the late night sky.  Daddy was full of magic!  Full of imagination!  And young-at-heart.  I miss him dearly every day of my life…
NS: Can you tell us your favorite line of Cicada? 

BW: “Can you keep a secret?”
NS: Do you incorporate any part of yourself into the characters or place that you have been?

 BW: I think each of my characters probably has a tiny bit of me lurking around somewhere.  However, the book is set in a real town, and it would only take a tiny bit of detective work to find the places in the story where all those things happen.
NS: How long does it usually take to write a novel? 

BW: It took me a year to write Cicada.  If I hadn’t had a day job and college classes, it might not have taken that long.
NS: Anything else you would like to add? 

BW: I would like to thank you very much for having me as a guest on your lovely blog!  It has been terrific to stop by for a mug of peppermint hot cocoa and a chance to get to know you and your readers.  I hope everyone will take a moment to stop by any or all of my social networking sites to say “howdy” sometime!  And feel free to share your thoughts with me about Cicada.  I love to hear from my readers! 🙂
Also, if you are in my neck of the woods on January 21st, I’ll be a participating author at the Montgomery County Teen Book Festival.  Here’s the link to their website:  http://www.montgomerycountyteenbookfestival.com/Montgomery_County_Teen_Book_Festival/Welcome.html

Here are the links to my social networking sites and my book trailer:
My Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Belle-Whittington-Author/192785624106142?ref=tn_tnmn
My Tumblr: http://bellewhittington.tumblr.com/
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/AuthorofCicada
My Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5046101.Belle_Whittington
My Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WF2fd2GxVKo

Leave a Reply

