Review: Jessica Rules the Dark Side (Jessica #2) by Beth Fantaskey

Standard

Jessica Rules the Dark Side (Jessica #2) by Beth Fantaskey

Hardcover, 309 pages
Published January 10th 2012 by Harcourt Children’s Books
Source: ARC as RAK
It’s one thing to find out you’re a vampire princess. It’s a whole other thing to actually rule. Newly married Jessica Packwood is having a hard enough time feeling regal with her husband, Lucius, at her side. But when evidence in the murder of a powerful elder points to Lucius, sending him into solitary confinement, Jessica is suddenly on her own. Determined to clear her husband’s name, Jessica launches into a full-scale investigation, but hallucinations and nightmares of betrayal keep getting in her way. Jessica knows that with no blood to drink, Lucius’s time is running out. Can she figure out who the real killer is—and whom she can trust—before it’s too late? – Goodreads
My Opinion: This was an interesting sequel to Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. I enjoyed it, but now that I think about it, the first in the series, was better. There was more drama for me in the first with the mob coming to kill Lucius and discovering that Jessica loved him. In this one however, it was basically a murder mystery for the last 125 pages while the first seemed to be of Jessica being scared of ruling and of the Elders.
My favorite character in the this book in the series had to be Mindy. I’m glad that she comes back because she is the only human in the group of vampires. We, as the readers, can see her as a sort of observer that can see every angle even if she can’t explain how she comes to the conclusions that she does. But we can see her observations about the vampires that are in the Vladescu estate. I would have said Jessica if she didn’t have such a backwards transformation from the first novel to the second. In the end of the first novel she was super confident with her self and in the first sixty percent of the second book, she is a coward. I liked that she finally got her “Queenly” status at the end, and she got her confidence. But I feel like she shouldn’t have lost it in the first place. I understand that its a new place and she doesn’t understand the customs and language, but she should accept the situation and try to mkae the best of it not hide behind Lucius.
The plot was good. I liked the mystery, I just wish that it was a little more mysterious because you can sort of figure out what is happening with Mindy and her observations. I liked that many suspects there are, it allowed for you to think. I also enjoyed the multiple perspectives given, although I feel like have four perspectives that just keep switching was a little too much. I don’t think that Raniero’s perspective was necessary.
Something that I really enjoyed that connected back to the first novel in the series was the letters that Lucius writes, although they are not to his Uncle, they explain his thoughts.
Overall: 3.75 out of 5
One response »

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox (38) « Novel Society

Leave a Reply

