Review: Spirit’s Princess (Spirit’s Princess, #1) by Esther M. Friesner

Standard

Spirit’s Princess (Spirit’s Princess, #1) by Esther M. Friesner

Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: April 24th 2012 by Random House

Source: NetGalley

Himiko the beloved daughter of a chieftain in third century Japan has always been special. The day she was born there was a devastating earthquake, and the tribe’s shamaness had an amazing vision revealing the young

girl’s future—one day this privileged child will be the spiritual and tribal leader over all of the tribes. Book One revolves around the events of Himiko’s early teen years—her shaman lessons, friendships, contact with other tribes, and jour

ney to save her family after a series of tragic events. Once again, Esther Friesner masterfully weaves together history, myth, and mysticism in a tale of a princess whose path is far from
traditional. – Goodreads
My Opinion: I really liked this story. I think that Esther M. Friesner has made me a fan of her writing. I really enjoyed the story it kept me guessing as to what would happen and I love how some of the information was not told to the main character and it made her guess herself after she found out about it.
Himiko, I think is one of my favorite characters to read about. She is someone that knows what she wants and goes for it. I love that about her. I think that that is also what saves her. I love her natural ability to be great and I think that that fact that her aunt was such a horrible leader/shamoness is going to keep her from becoming that and will eventually lead to her saving the world. I love that she is confident in her ability but that she still respects her father and hopes that he will accept her in the future and if he doesn’t she will just walk away and not let his negativity distract her.
I really liked the dream that she has with the “Prince.” I kinda can’t wait to see more of him in the next book. I can’t wait for the next book. And check out the cover… gorgeous. I love the details on the kimono and the sash and the stick in her hand which has A LOT of significance in the story.
The plot was interesting in the way that it kept you on your toes with finding out about the different clans/tribes and how distrustful they are of each other. Himiko wasn’t the only interesting character. All the other characters helped to show different sides of her and for that I really like them but also because they themselves stood out for their qualities.
Overall: 5 out of 5
One response »

  1. Pingback: Review: Spirit’s Chosen (Spirit’s Princess #2) by Esther Friesner | Novel Society

Leave a Reply

