Review: Katana by Cole Gibsen

Standard

Katana by Cole Gibsen

Paperback, 384 pages
Published March 8th 2012 by Flux
Source: Library
Rileigh Martin would love to believe that adrenaline had given her the uncanny courage and strength to fend off three muggers. But it doesn’t explain her dreams of 15th-century Japan, the incredible fighting skills she suddenly possesses, or the strange voice giving her battle tips and danger warnings.While worrying that she’s going crazy (always a reputation ruiner), Rileigh gets a visit from Kim, a handsome martial arts instructor, who tells Rileigh she’s harboring the spirit of a five-hundred-year-old samurai warrior.

Relentlessly attacked by ninjas, Rileigh has no choice but to master the katana–a deadly Japanese sword that’s also the key to her past. As the spirit grows stronger and her feelings for Kim intensify, Rileigh is torn between continuing as the girl she’s always been and embracing the warrior inside her. – Goodreads

My opinion: This was an enjoyable book. I liked that it was different from the other supernatural books out right now. Its about samurai and the plot was pretty cool. I liked the way that it brought it back and forth a couple of times with the past. So we got to see the life of the spirit inside of Rileigh. Something I did not really like was that the bad guy was so power obsessed, that in the way is very similar to other books. I feel like because this book was different, it should have had a more complicated bad guy, instead of just power hunger. Kim was pretty interesting character. I sort of wish that we saw more from his perspective and not just Rileigh’s. But my favorite character was Quentin because he was an observer he saw this from the out side and that made him valuable.
Rileigh was not a favorite character, I mean I understand that if someone was put into that situation, they would freak out, but she was a little shallow as a character. I felt like there wasn’t as much depth to her as there should have been, considering the plot and who she was supposed to be.
Something that didn’t make sense to me was that although after she”transcenda” she only got her samurai memories and none of the other memories from her past lives… that just confused me. Anyways because I thought the plot and story lines were good, I’m going to give it an overall rating of 4 out of 5.
Overall: 4 out of 5
One response »

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox (39) « Novel Society

Leave a Reply

