Review: Silence (The Queen of the Dead #1) by Michelle Sagara

Standard

Silence (The Queen of the Dead #1) by Michelle Sagara

Hardcover, 256 pages
Expected publication: May 1st 2012 by DAW
Source: Review copy from publisher
“It began in the graveyard. Ever since her boyfriend Nathan died in a tragic accident Emma had been coming to the graveyard at night. During the day she went through the motions at her prep school, in class, with her friends, but that’s all it was. But tonight was different. Tonight Emma and her dog were not alone in the cemetery. There were two others there—Eric, who had just started at her school, and an ancient woman who looked as though she were made of rags. And when they saw Emma there, the old woman reached out to her with a grip as chilling as death….” – Goodreads
My Opinion: Okay when I got this in the mail, I was so excited. I started the book and finished it in one day. I loved it. It did not disappoint whatsoever. I love that there isn’t a love triangle. I loved, loved, loved this was all about helping her understand what she can do and how she can help Drew.  I loved the way she discovers little by little who she and what she can do. But I have to say that Amy is my favorite character because she is not afraid to say and do what she wants and she also protects her friends. My second favorite had to be Michael. I loved the way he played with the kids and how he cared about his friends. Allison was also pretty cool. She observes really well what others are like.
Eric and Chase were interesting characters. I love Eric and Chase even though they had had bad experiences with necromancers they still ended up helping Emma when they had come to kill her. I loved how the book started off right away with a mini climax and especially how it ended. Margaret, one of the ghosts, calls her something other than a necromancer and doesn’t say what, so I can’t wait to find out in the next book. I also loved the last lines.
This book was interesting from page one to the last. I laughed with the characters and even shed a couple of tears. It was a great book.
Overall: 5 out of 5
3 responses »

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox (40) « Novel Society

  2. Pingback: Early Review: Silence by Michelle Sagara | All Things Urban Fantasy - Where Para is NormalAll Things Urban Fantasy

Leave a Reply

