Blog Tour: Author Interview: Toni Aleo + Giveaway!

Standard
  1. How did you come up with the idea for Taking Shots?

I have always been around hockey. I met my husband when I was 14, and he got me into it. My love for hockey has grown over the years, and one day I decided that hockey and romance needed to be put together, so I sat down and wrote the first chapter of Elli’s story. I hated it…lol, so I shut it down and didn’t touch it for what seem like months. Then I met Shea Weber. Lord almighty, I came home and the story just poured from me. It was fantastic and now, we have Shea and Elli.

2.     Do you believe that opposites attract?

LMAO! Oh yes I do! If you were to meet me and my husband, you would believe it too. My husband is so quiet, so sweet, and even tempered, while I am angry, loud, and obnoxious about everything! We play off each other.  He is a everything will work out kind of guy, while I’m a oh my God what are we gonna do??? He is the perfect man for me, and I love him more than anything.

3.     What kind of research did you have to do for the books?

I do a lot of hockey research. With the first two books I was good, my husband and brother in law played those positions but now I have a goalie, and I have no clue what they do, so I have been harassing guys on my husband’s team and the goalies from the Nashville Predators. Also the heroine in the next book had some complications from an abortion, so I had to look that up too. I also look up new words, I love expanding my vocabulary and when I see a new word when I am reading a book, I highlight for later!

4.     How did you come up with the wine and hockey idea for Fallon and Lucas’s story?

I am a complete wino. I LOVE wine. My book club, with my favorite girls, consists of us drinking a lot of wine and talking about the book for about 5 minutes. I wanted something for Fallon to do that could tie in with the hockey league. A sponsorship, and were in Nashville, we have the Patron Club, so I figured that wine would do a good job instead of tequila, even though I love my tequila.

5.     What character from your book is most like you and why?

Lol, if you were to ask anyone that knows me, they would say Elli, which I do agree but I think that all my heroines will have a piece of me. Elli has insecurities and I do too, I never think I am good enough, not even when people are screaming it in my face, but then I have those moment when I am like “Yeah, I’m pretty freaking awesome.” Lol. Fallon can’t let go of the past, and boy can I hold a grudge like no ones business. You don’t cross me, I have angry issues, that’s why I watch hockey! lol

6.     What’s your all-time favorite book and why?

Eek! Um, well, goodness that’s hard. I guess its between Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin.

7.     What is your next project?

I am currently working on the third in the Assassins Series, called Empty Net.

8.     Who is your book boyfriend?

Oh me, if I can’t have Shea Adler, then hand over Dimitri Belikov from the Vampire Academy series or Mr. Darcy…YUMMO! Dimtiri could call me Tonza any time of the day and if Mr. Darcy told me I have bewitch him body and soul, I would be a gonner. Lord, those men drive me insane!

9.     What author/authors/or person influenced you to become a writer?

My mom has always read books and has always told me I could do anything I put my mind too. I started writing in high school after reading Pride and Prejudice, so I guess I would have to say Jane Austin as my author. My husband was the one to push me to publish because he told me he believed in me. So I did. He is honestly the best thing that has ever happen to me, other than my two blessings.

10.  What book are you reading now?

Kiss me, I’m Irish, and it’s fantastic!

Check out the rest of the blogs on the blog tour for more chances to win!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour Review: Taking Shots (Assassins #1) by Toni Aleo + Giveaway « Novel Society

  2. Thanks for hosting Toni….she is awesome….I started with “Trying To Score” first and let me tell ya I instantly fell in love with Fallon, Lucas & Aiden…CANNOT wait for “Empty Net”!!

Leave a Reply

