Review + Giveaway: Mind Games (Mind Games #1) by Kiersten White

Standard

Mind Games (Mind Games #1) by Kiersten White

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published February 19th 2013 by HarperTeen
Source: Won from Epic Reads
Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways… or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost. – Goodreads
My Opinion: Fia is one of my new favorite characters. I love female characters that are strong and independent and that can kick butt. So Fia is definitely a check on all 3.
Something that I found kinda of bad is how her sister knows that she is being used and manipulated for bad things and that she is doing them for her, she doesn’t really try to do anything to help her until the end. And that doesn’t really do much for Fia.
One of my favorite characters was James though. He is so ambiguous throughout the novel and you can never really tell what he is thinking and how he will react to different situations. I liked that he learned early on how to avoid psychics and their premonitions and how to stop someone from reading his mind. I’m also really glad with how he and Fia met. I think that the fact that he knows all of these things is important be cause he says that he learned it from having to avoid his mother.
In the end, we meet someone that wants to take down the organization but the problem is that their seer is older and that she had been recruited as well. Now the concept so far in the story has been that James’s father is the one that started to twist the idea of the the foundation. However, if it started earlier on than that, maybe it was his mother? But that is just a prediction of mine so I’m not sure. If anyone has else has read the book, do you think that that is possible?
Anyway, the plot was exciting. I loved the way it started out with a hit and how it ended with Fia making a very big decision about her role in the foundation and who James will be for her.
I enjoyed the book and can’t wait for the next one. Now I am offering my copy up for grabs! Who wants it!?
Giveaway:
1. Leave a comment – If you could a psychic, what sort of power would you want? See the future, read people’s minds…etc.
2. Follow (tell me how in form)
3. SPREAD THE WORD!
4. Ends May 1st!
6 responses »

  1. I would love to have a physic power. I am not sure how I would handle it though and not sure if I’d rather see the future or read people’s minds. I almost think I’d rather see the future. At least I’d know what’s coming.

  2. I would love to be able to read people’s minds. It’s really a bummer when you’re talking to someone and you know they are lying, but you don’t have proof.

Leave a Reply

