Review: Spirit’s Chosen (Spirit’s Princess #2) by Esther Friesner

Standard

Spirit’s Chosen (Spirit’s Princess #2) by Esther Friesner

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published April 23rd 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Source: Won from RandomBuzzers
From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . .Himiko’s world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there’s more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior.

Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner’s Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible! – Goodreads

My Opinion: I… Loved… This! I think that I enjoyed this more than the first book. I loved the way Himiko went from being a Princess and running away from her father to be a shaman to becoming a slave and learning how not to lose herself and then to become so revered.
I love that she was able to find her “love” in the spirit world and in the living world. I also enjoyed the way the villain stayed the same that he didn’t change through out the story and that the reader knows, who she is fighting against. I really liked the Oni too. I think that the way the people reacted is very plausible. People fear what they don’t understand so the fact that they shunned him and exiled him like that does not surprise me. Ryu kept getting from bad to worse, with every thwarting of his power. I love that Daimu was able return and kinda of guide the people to see a different path than what Ryu was showing them.
I really liked the flow of the book. I couldn’t put it down. I loved the way the book progressed the writing was phenomenal. I was never left wondering, how did that happen, why is what’s happening happening. It just flowed like water. I started this book at 5 pm and finished at 11 pm the same night. I couldn’t put it down. If you haven’t read the first book in the series, I definitely suggest you do so, because you wont know why some of the things are happening.
Overall: 5 out of 5
One response »

Leave a Reply

