Review: City Love (City Love #1) by Susane Colasanti

Standard

City Love by Susane Colasanti

Hardcover, 336 pages

Published April 21st 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Publisher for honest review
Three girls are about to discover the meaning of city love. From bestselling YA romance author Susane Colasanti! Sadie, a born and raised New Yorker, is hopeful and romantic and an eternal optimist who is ready to find her soul mate.Darcy is a free spirit from SoCal with rebellious tendencies and unlimited financial resources, looking for summer boy adventures.Rosanna leaves Chicago for NYC with a grand total of seventy-three cents so she can reinvent herself and forget about her past.Sadie, Darcy, and Rosanna are living together in New York City the summer before their freshman year of college begins. With no parents, no rules, and an entire city to explore, these three girls are on the verge of the best summer of their lives. Told from alternating points of view, City Love captures the moments in each girl’s life when everything is thrilling, amazing, and terrifying all at once…in a way it will never be again. – Goodreads

My opinion: I don’t know why but it was so hard for me to get into this book. I did finish it, but it was torturous as times. I did like the three girls, Rosanna and Darcy and Sadie are different characters. They come from different socioeconomic status as well as different cities and they all like different things but they get along and work together. They also meet three different boys that are different but similar to them as well. For instance, Sadie meets Austin and they both like looking at buildings. The girls also develop a strong bond with each other as they talk about different activities they do together.

The reason I think that I didn’t enjoy the book as much is that although it was  good romance, I have been reading a lot of books that have a romantic feel to them and the romance progression was very obvious I feel like.

I was trying to figure out why I didn’t enjoy it and I remember I review that I read when the book first came out and I have to say I think Bri from Once Upon a Time put the words in my mouth or fingers as I am typing this. I think I wanted a strong friendship between the girls and not just the boys. That is what I think the book was missing. I think that if there were more moments of the girls bonding and spending time together, the book and I would have gotten along much better. There were times when they were bonding but that was mostly at the beginning of the book, however after about a quarter of the way of the book the focus is on the relationship with the boys and the rest of the mentions of the girls spending time together is from things they were thinking of things that happened in the past days.

Overall, I don’t really think that this was my “cup of tea” and it didn’t really meet my expectations but the story was okay.

2 out of 5


Other reviews of City Love

Leave a Reply

